• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Alexander Downer
    • Oct 2008

Time to acknowldge and accept both communities

Yasou fellow Christian Orthodox Brothers,

At the very least, putting aside the name issues surrounding country, people, orthodox church etc., consider each other as Christian orthodox brothers. No one can deny this.

My background is traced to a beautiful Island that gave birth to Lesbians, called Lesbos. I grew up in a small town in South Australia and in my very early childhood, I grew up with a beautiful neighbor, a Macedonian family. They would come to our Greek service in an Anglican church. There was no orthodox churches. We didn’t know there was a Macedonian issue. Well my parents certainly didn’t. I later learnt from my mum that they were Macedonian from Yugoslavia (when it was still around). The point I want to make, taking away the backgrounds, we still had a common bond, and that was the Orthodox faith.

Now that I am older and wiser, my personal belief and its my opinion only, that there are definitely two strands of the Macedonian issue that BOTH sides need to acknowledge and accept. We can at least agree that there two sides to this matter and no one should have a monopoly over it.