• Show
Clear All
  • TrueMacedonian
    • Jan 2009

Top Chops David Belkovski

http://www.macombdaily.com/articles/201 ... 998333.txt

Top chops
    Published: Tuesday, August 03, 2010

Macomb Daily staff photo by Craig Gaffield David Belkovski's credentials include fourth place out of 400 students at the World Piano Competition.

Dakota sophomore to hone piano skills at Interlochen

A local high schooler — beginning this upcoming school year — will transfer and attend a prestigious school for the arts.

David Belkovski, 16, of Macomb Township and a recent sophomore at Dakota High School, has been playing the piano since it was first introduced to him at age 6 by his musically inclined father.

At first, the Macedonian-born David was resistant to the idea of taking on the piano, as his father, Peter Belkovski, kept persuading him to do.

But David caught on quickly, discovering a passion for it. Others soon realized he had the skill for it, too.

"I started playing … my parents put it on me and I kind of caught on quickly," David said. "I first started at a school with, like, 14 other kids and it was kind of bizarre. Soon I began with my first teacher and got really close with her."

More and more private lessons followed.

And with the number of lessons growing, Peter — a fellow musician on the side — found his pride in his son growing and growing.

"I push him to be better," Peter says, "just like a father does. But what I really want him to know — why I do all of this — is that I am very proud of him."

And now, with Peter's pride at a new peak, David will set off to the Interlochen Arts Camp near Traverse City, a boarding school for talented students.

"Over the summer I spent six weeks there," he said. "And I just fell in love with it. It was just an amazing atmosphere and the students there knew what I was talking about in music. It was just a much better atmosphere."